Marcus Mariota Wins Heisman Trophy - Fueled by Sports

Marcus Mariota Wins Heisman Trophy

We all knew that Marcus Mariota was going to win the Heisman Trophy, and that became a reality on Saturday night. The Oregon quarterback became the 79th winner of the award (the award was created in 1935). Mariota became the first Oregon player to ever win the award.

Mariota knocked off Alabama receiver Amari Cooper and Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon. He received 90.9 percent of the available votes, which is the second-largest margin in the history of the Heisman trophy. The only player to have a higher percentage was Ohio State quarterback Troy Smith who had 91.6 in 2006.

Mariota had an unbelievable season, throwing for 38 touchdowns and throwing just two interceptions all season, and also throwing for 3, 783 yards. He ran for 669 yards and 14 touchdowns.

He had already won the Walter Camp, Davey O’Brien, Maxwell and Johnny Unitas Golden Arm awards. Now Mariota will be gearing up to lead his team in the inaugural College Football Playoffs. Oregon will square off against Florida State on January 1st.

Final Results
[table “” not found /]

To Top
Fueled by Sports