New York Mets First Round Draft Picks | Fueled by Sports

New York Mets First Round Draft Picks


The New York Mets first round draft picks include 67 players, with 28 being pitchers and 39 of those being drafted out of high school. The Mets have selected 17 outfielders, eight shortstops, six catchers, three third basemen, three first basemen and one second baseman in the first round of the MLB draft. Of the pitchers taken, the Mets have selected 19 right-handers and nine left-handers.

The Reds have drafted 28 college players with their first round selection, with the last being David Peterson in 2017. New York has selected first overall five times, with the team picking Steve Chilcott in 1966, Tim Foli in 1968, Darryl Strawberry in 1980, Shawn Abner in 1984 and Paul Wilson in 1994.

YearPlayerPosSchoolPickSigning Bonus
1965Les RohrLHPWest HS (MT)2$50,000
1966Steve ChilcottCAntelope Valley HS (CA)1$75,000
1967Jon MatlackLHPHenderson HS (PA)4
1968Tim FoliSSNotre Dame HS (CA)1$74,000
1969Randy SterlingRHPKey West HS (FL)4
1970George AmbrowSSLong Beach Polytechnic HS (CA)23Did Not Sign
1971Rich Puig2BHillsborough HS (FL)14
1972Richard BangstenCRichwoods HS (IL)13
1973Lee MazzilliOFAbraham Lincoln HS (NY)14
1974Cliff SpeckRHPBeaverton HS (OR)17
1975Butch BentonCGodby HS (FL)6$30,000
1976Tom ThurbergOFSouth Weymouth HS (MA)13
1977Wally BackmanSSAloha HS (OR)16
1978Hubie BrooksOFArizona State University3
1979Tim LearyRHPUCLA2
1980Darryl StrawberryOFCrenshaw HS (CA)1$152,500
1980Billy BeaneOFMount Carmel HS (CA)23
1980John GibbonsCMacArthur HS (TX)24
1981Terry BlockerOFTennessee State University4$127,500
1982Dwight GoodenRHPHillsborough HS (FL)5
1983Eddie Williams3BHoover HS (CA)4
1983Stan JeffersonOFBethune-Cookman College20
1983Calvin SchiraldiRHPUniversity of Texas27
1984Shawn AbnerOFMechanicsburg Area HS (PA)1$150,500
1985Gregg JefferiesSSSerra HS (CA)20$100,000
1986Lee MayOFPurcell Marian HS (OH)21
1987Chris Donnels3BLoyola Marymount University24
1988Dave ProctorRHPAllen County CC21
1989Alan ZinterCUniversity of Arizona24$123,000
1990Jeromy BurnitzOFOklahoma State University17$192,500
1991Al ShirleyOFGeorge Washington HS (VA)18$245,000
1991Bobby JonesRHPCalifornia State University, Fresno36
1992Preston WilsonSSBamberg Ehrhardt HS (SC)9$500,000
1992Chris RobertsLHPFlorida State University18$365,000
1992Jon WardRHPHuntington Beach HS (CA)30
1993Kirk PresleyRHPTupelo HS (MS)8$900,000
1994Paul WilsonRHPFlorida State University1$1,550,000
1994Terrence Long1BStanhope Elmore HS (AL)20$500,000
1994Jay PaytonOFGeorgia Tech29
1995Ryan JaroncykSSOrange Glen HS (CA)18$850,000
1996Rob StrattonOFSan Marcos HS (CA)13$975,000
1997Geoff GoetzLHPJesuit HS (FL)6$1,700,000
1998Jason TynerOFTexas A&M21$1,070,000
2000Billy TraberLHPLoyola Marymount University16$400,000
2000Bobby KeppelRHPDe Smet Jesuit HS (MO)36$895,000
2001Aaron HeilmanRHPUniversity of Notre Dame18$1,508,705
2001David Wright3BHickory HS (VA)38$960,000
2002Scott KazmirLHPCypress Falls HS (TX)15$2,150,000
2003Lastings MilledgeOFLakewood Ranch HS (FL)12$2,075,000
2004Philip HumberRHPRice University3$3,000,000
2005Mike PelfreyRHPWichita State University9$3,550,000
2007Eddie KunzRHPOregon State University42$720,000
2007Nathan VineyardLHPWoodland HS (GA)47$657,000
2008Ike Davis1BArizona State University18$1,575,000
2008Reese HavensSSUniversity of South Carolina22$1,419,000
2008Bradley HoltRHPU of North Carolina at Wilmington33$1,040,000
2010Matt HarveyRHPU of North Carolina at Chapel Hill7$2,625,000
2011Brandon NimmoOFCheyenne East HS (WY)13$2,100,000
2011Michael FulmerRHPDeer Creek HS (OK)44$937,500
2012Gavin CecchiniSSBarbe HS (LA)12$2,300,000
2012Kevin PlaweckiCPurdue University35$1,400,000
2013Dominic Smith1BSerra HS (CA)11$2,600,000
2014Michael ConfortoOFOregon State University10$2,970,800
2016Justin DunnRHPBoston College19$2,378,800
2016Anthony KayLHPUniversity of Connecticut31$1,100,000
2017David PetersonLHPUniversity of Oregon20$2,994,500
2018Jarred KelenicOFWaukesha West HS (WI)6$4,500,000

Hall of Fame


World Series Winners with Mets

Lee Mazzilli (1986), Wally Backman (1986), Darryl Strawberry (1986), Dwight Gooden (1986)

NL MVP Award Winners with Mets


NL Cy Young Award Winners with Mets

Dwight Gooden (1985)

Rookie of the Year Award with Mets

Jon Matlack (1972), Darryl Strawberry (1983), Dwight Gooden (1984)

To Top